Hennessey Becomes Palaces First Deadline Day Signing

Welsh international goalkeeper Wayne Hennessey has signed for Crystal Palace for an undisclosed fee believed to be on the region of £3 million.

The six foot six keeper has signed from League One Wolves and has put pen to paper on a three and a half year contract at Selhurst Park, that will see the Welshman stay at the club until 2017.

He has represented his country on 41 occasions, as well as amassing 166 games for his club, including three seasons competing in the Premier League. He will look to provide first choice goalkeeper Julian Speroni with some much needed cover, and will in all likelihood succeed the Argentine stopper when he hangs up his gloves.

Speaking to the official Crystal Palace website Hennessey said: “I’m delighted to be here, I’ve met some of the lads and the staff already so I’m just looking forward to getting out onto the training pitch now.”

“I know Danny Gabbidon well and he’s been telling me what the place is all about. He said it’s a fantastic club and that I should get down here so I’m over the moon it’s happened”



Leave a comment